The 2022 Europe International Championship takes place this weekend, April 22-24, in Frankfurt, Germany. This is the first International Championship of 2022, but the third of the continuing 2020 season prior to the Covid-19 era. Both 2020 International Champions-- Robin Schulz (LAIC) and Nico Alabas (OCIC)-- are present in Frankfurt, attempting to win a second International Champion title. 

PokéStats will keep you updated in this post with all the info you need to enjoy the tournament, from pairings links and stream match recaps to information on top players' decks and the developing metagame and top tables. 

616 Masters.

Previous major events in this format
Many top players still consider Mew VMAX the best deck in format and the deck to beat for EUIC, but will it be the most-represented deck for the fifth straight major event? Will another Arceus VSTAR variant rise to become the EUIC champion, or will a new archetype prevail this weekend? 

For a more in-depth preview of this weekend's metagame, we recommend the FlowTKast meta discussion, featuring the insight of 2019 World Champion Henry Brand and three-time International Champion Tord Reklev. Brand is not competing this weekend, but Reklev will be in Frankfurt seeking to add to his GOAT-status resume with a fourth International title. 

Streamed Games:

Round 1 / watch

Round 2 / watch

Round 3 / watch

Round 4A / watch

Round 4B / watch

Round 5 / watch

Round 6 / watch

Round 7 / watch

Round 8 / watch

Round 9 / watch

Top players' archetypes
PokéStats tracks the archetypes used by top players as we receive information from sources at the tournament. Note that to avoid unfairly leaking excess deck information, archetype names listed here may be purposefully vague. 
✘ = player eliminated from Day 2 contention

  • Nico Alabas - Rapid Strike Urshifu VMAX/Galarian Moltres
  • Kaiwen Cabbabe - Mew VMAX
  • Michael Catron - Arceus VSTAR/Inteleon
  • Jesper Eriksen - Mew VMAX
  • Connor Finton - Shadow Rider Calyrex VMAX/Whimsicott VSTAR
  • Daniel Lynch - Whimsicott VSTAR
  • Pablo Meza - Arceus VSTAR/Inteleon
  • Frank Percic - Whimsicott VSTAR
  • Magnus Pedersen - Arceus VSTAR/Rapid Strike Urshifu VMAX/Beedrill
  • Fabien Pujol - Rapid Strike Urshifu VMAX/Galarian Moltres
  • Rahul Reddy - Rapid Strike Urshifu VMAX/Galarian Moltres
  • Tord Reklev - Rapid Strike Urshifu VMAX/Galarian Moltres
  • Robin Schulz - Arceus VSTAR/Inteleon
  • Gabriel Smart - Mew VMAX
  • Brent Tonisson - Mew VMAX
  • Pedro Eugenio Torres - Rapid Strike Urshifu VMAX/Galarian Moltres
  • Gustavo Wada - Rapid Strike Urshifu VMAX/Galarian Moltres
  • Sander Wojcik - Umbreon VMAX/Eldegoss V Control