2018 Portland Regionals

Dates: October 27-28
Location: Oregon Convention Center, Portland, Oregon, USA
Organizer: Thunder Gym
Attendance: 511 Masters
Format: Expanded BLW-DRM


Day 2 final standings

  1. Jimmy Pendarvis, Zoroark-GX/Seismitoad-EX (import list)
  2. Aaron Tarbell, Trevenant BREAK with Counter Energy and Scoop Up Cyclone (import list)
  3. Zachery Everest, Archie's Blastoise (import list)
  4. Joe Sanchez, Primal Groudon-EX (import list)
  5. Joe Ruettiger, Zoroark-GX/Seismitoad-EX (notes) (import list)
  6. Isaiah Williams, Zoroark-GX Control (notes) (import list)
  7. Alexander McNeill, Drampa-GX/Garbodor (notes) (import list)
  8. Austin Ellis, Fighting Toolbox (notes) (import list)
  9. Sam Chen, Archie's Blastoise (import list)
  10. Azul Garcia Griego, Zoroark-GX/Seismitoad-EX (import list)
  11. Christopher Schemanske, Trevenant BREAK (notes) (import list)
  12. Edan Lewis, Alolan Exeggutor (notes) (import list)
  13. Lance Bradshaw, Buzzwole/Lycanroc-GX
  14. Drue Townsend, Greninja BREAK
  15. DeAndre Holmes, Zoroark-GX Control
  16. Michael Pramawat, Zoroark-GX/Seismitoad-EX (notes
  17. Ian Robb, Garbodor/Dimension Valley Toolbox
  18. Aaron Friedman, Zoroark-GX/Garbodor (notes)
  19. Kenny Britton, Drampa-GX/Banette-GX/Garbodor
  20. Caleb Gedemer, Zoroark-GX/Seismitoad-EX 
  21. Pearce Blend, Blastoise/Archie's Ace in the Hole
  22. Franco Llamas III, Zoroark-GX/Garbodor
  23. John O'Donald, Alolan Exeggutor (notes
  24. Brian Miller, Sableye/Garbodor
  25. Peter Kica, Night March 
  26. Sascha Rogge, Zoroark-GX/Garbodor
  27. Andrew Jones, Zoroark-GX/Lycanroc-GX
  28. Ahmad Akhrass, Zoroark-GX/Seismitoad-EX 
  29. Jay Lesage, Trevenant BREAK
  30. Connor Pedersen, Night March (notes
  31. Cory Dickman, Sylveon-GX
  32. Zakaria Aossey, Buzzwole FLI/Shrine of Punishment
  33. Kevin Abernathy, Trevenant BREAK
  34. Rahul Reddy, Vespiquen/Flareon with Entei AOR 14 (notes
  35. Landen Kaetler, Sylveon-GX
  36. Danyell Segoviano, Trevenant BREAK
  37. Manuel Jorach, Buzzwole-GX/Garbodor
  38. Mark Garcia, Banette-GX/Drampa-GX/Garbodor
  39. Daniel Collens, Zygarde-GX/Lycanroc-GX
  40. Tristan Pisani-Blair, Trevenant BREAK (notes)
  41. Stefan Tabaco, Sableye/Garbodor
  42. Nico Gist, Zoroark-GX/Garbodor
  43. Padraic McSwain, Sableye/Garbodor (notes
  44. Kevyn Tibbot, Rayquaza-GX
  45. Daniel Rattay, Sylveon-GX/Magnezone PLS 46
  46. Kyle Rivera, Drampa-GX/Garbodor
  47. Polo Le, Zoroark-GX/Garbodor*
* dropped from Day 2

Other notable decks
  • Michael Catron, 107th, Guzzlord-GX/Solgaleo-GX (notes) (import list)

  • This was the first Expanded major event of the 2018-19 season, and the first-ever Expanded major event with the July 2018 banlist updates (Ghetsis, Hex Maniac, Puzzle of Time, and Wally). 
  • Team DDG was responsible for creating the Zoroark-GX/Seismitoad-EX Control deck that Jimmy Pendarvis used to win the tournament. Six of the seven players who used the list made Day 2, and four of them finished in Top 16. The players used different Plasma Blast Fossil Pokémon (Archen, Lileep, or Tirtouga - the choice didn't affect gameplay) to allow themselves to Trade to zero cards in deck without decking out. DDG member Isaiah Williams used a different Zoroark-GX Control list without Seismitoad-EX to finish 6th. 

Streamed matches
This event was streamed by Travis Nunlist (tnunski on Twitch), with commentary from Nunlist, Alex Koch, Mike Morton Jr.Brandon Nguyen, and Ben Potter

Full VODs: Day 1 / Day 2

Round 1 / watch

Round 2 / watch

Round 3 / watch

Round 4 / watch

More links